Saddleworth Mountain Time Trial 2019

Wednesday 15th May saw 50 riders from an entry of 65 take to the hilly local roads for the Saddleworth Mountain Time Trial. This long running event of many decades standing was organised for the 4th year by Saddleworth Clarion Cycling Club.

The Weather Gods kindly delivered a warm and sunny evening with almost no wind, although the competitors spoke of a decent head wind out to The Ford Inn and a definite tail wind for the final descent back to Greenfield. Certainly the weather contributed to some fast recorded times across the field.

First rider off at 6.45pm was Simon Cullen of Saddleworth Clarion who finished in a personal best time of 56’21. However the fastest Clarion rider on the night in a time of 54’10 was Gavin Wright of Bury Clarion who received a voucher for £15 from Huddersfield based Magic Rock Brewing Company. Special mention goes to Bury Clarion as the best represented club on the night fielding 10 riders.



Charlotte Boothman of ABC Centreville improved on her 2nd placing of last year in the Female category with the fastest time of 59 minutes 37 seconds, Charlotte was presented with £150 in Rapha vouchers and also receives the Annie Kenney Trophy, which on the night had still not been retrieved from last year’s recipient. In an impressive 2nd place was Amelie Wayte,  a Junior rider from Cycling Performance Squad who recorded a time of 1 hour 04 exactly.  In joint 3rd place were Janet Grint, Stockport Tri Club and Olivia Ingham, another Junior Cycling Performance Squad rider, in a time 1 hour 05 12 secs.

Once again the competition for the fastest overall time was extremely close, with only 17 seconds separating the first four male riders on the night.

The winner with a personal best of 47 minutes 30 seconds was Louis Szymanski of Cycling Sheffield Giant.

Second was Hayden Allen of T.H.R.E. Datawolves R.T., only 6 seconds behind in a time of 47’36. Third was Jude Taylor of Team B38/Cycles in Motion in a time of 47’46. Closely followed in 4th place by last year’s winner Matt Moorhouse of Preston CC who was presented with £10 prize for 1st Veteran for his time of 47’47.


Equal prizes of £150 Rapha vouchers, £50 and £25 cheques were given to the male and female riders named above, although there was some confusion on the night with the announcement of the results and awards given. The full results sheet can be read on the CTT website

Prizes on the night were presented by local professional rider Gabriel (Gabs) Cullaigh of the Wiggins Le Col team, fresh from a 16th place in the recent Tour de Yorkshire including a 5th place in the sprint into Selby on Stage 1 and 8th on Stage 4 into Leeds. Although not on the official start sheet, and thus not eligible for a prize, Gabs did set off to ride the course but unfortunately punctured on the descent into Meltham. That essentially was the end of his ride and Gabs and his bike were brought back to the HQ. Special mention to Keith Bidwell of Team Wheelguru who suffered a similar fate and recorded a DNF.

Thanks once again to the Saddleworth Cricket, Bowls and Tennis Club for acting as the Event HQ. All riders and volunteers were welcomed back to the HQ for a complementary drink of beer, tea or coffee, and a well -stocked table of sandwiches and delicious home -made cakes.

Our special thanks again to Rapha for their generous sponsorship of the first prizes.

Credit to Richard O’Connell of Saddleworth Clarion, for taking the photos. There were also  again a couple of professional photographers, Raymond Bracewell and Stephen Smith, out on the course. Their excellent photos can be viewed and purchased below:

Overall thanks to everyone involved, riders and volunteers alike, for making it another very successful event. Plans are already underway for the organisation of the Saddleworth Mountain Time Trial in 2020.